Tulisan Tempo Dulu: English in My Journey

 

Dulu, entah tahun 2012 atau 2013, saya sempat bikin tulisan dalam bahasa Inggris tentang bagaimana saya belajar bahasa Inggris. Ini tulisan pertama saya dalam font times new roman, juga tulisan bahasa Inggris pertama yang mencapai 3000 kata lebih. hehe…

Hope you enjoy with it… heee 🙂

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

“English is a global language” they said to me.

I knew English when I sat in …… hmmm it was about second or the third grade of elementary school. My teacher there, was a woman, even she was a young lady. But, we called her “a killer teacher”. At first she wrote a word “English” in the blackboard. And I as her students, I just thought “we are studying bahasa inggris, but our teacher wrote ENGLISH for inggris, what does she meant? What is English?” ha… ha … ha… 😀 sure!!! I thought like that. At first I felt so confused to learn a language beside my language.

Then Mrs Resi (my first English teacher’s named) gave us a song with the title ‘Days’. Here is the lyric:

Sunday

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Saturday

 

It was so fun! Every students liked it and tried to follow my teacher’s mouth when she sang it. But, it was so difficult for me.

Two years later English still become a common subject for me and even for all of student in my school. There was no something special and there was no something interesting. Every learn English I just wrote a text and asked so many questions to my teacher.

I remembered when I asked “are”. “Miss, what’s that?” I asked, “oh that are, A-R-E!!” she explained. I said to myself (while laughing), “are…. Are funny!! What does it means, it’s a strange word for me!”

So directly I asked about its meaning to my teacher and she answered “This word doesn’t have a meaning Novi! It is just a to be

Hah….. I don’t understand it what is to be??? Then I always asked it again and again, till she become angry to me! Ha … ha … ha … she felt annoying and it was because of me, I made her mad.

I always remembered that moment.

The second of my unforgettable moment, is when I knew the writing of school. Firstly, Mrs Resi wrote the false writing. She wrote school without ‘H’ just scool. I just followed her. So I also became false. The funny moment was coming from Mrs Resi itself. Her dizziness was really strange but funny! She said like this: “eh, students!! The writing is scool. Geez… What!!?? scool or school ?? Wait! Um… yes it is right the writing is shool without ‘h’….” and a few minutes letter she said again “sorry kids, it is false the writing is school.” Lol… it was so interesting for me.

My teacher didn’t ask us about spelling. But I knew spelling activity from a cartoon, with the tittle Arnold, do you know it?

I tried to remember some word and tried to spell it in my brain with Indonesia alphabet it was not in English alphabet. My first word was “Chicken.” I found this word in a brochure when I was travelling with my family. Yes this word was coming from the street!!!

The last my unforgettable moment is about “translating activity”. At that time, I worked in group. I and my friend, Atun and Dewi were working hard to translate it. Our helper was just a small dictionary from BAZZAR. I came to everyone in my village. But no one could help us, they always said “we can’t!” we almost gave up. And sure!! The result was unsatisfied. At that time, I thought that, “it is not for us, it is for students in junior high school” but however from it, I knew “orang” in English. The word “people” was my first strange word.

A word “vocabulary” was the second strange word for me. I knew it when I sat in six grade of elementary school.

Well… that’s all my story about English in my elementary school, in my childhood moment,I just want to tell you, that I really, really a poor people in English when I entered this boarding, or when I sat in the first grade of junior high school.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

ONCE UPON A TIME

“Thank you for our sister L” said the master of ceremony

In the first grade In Al-Farhan, I joined Mabis (masa bimbingan santri). It was an introducing activity. The committee introduced the Al-Farhan Islamic Boarding School or all about it to us, the new students in this school. I liked this activity. It was interesting. I could watch from the students and from the committee. Such as pantomime, comedy even Syarhil Quran and Storytelling. It was amusing.

I was admiring L. She was a storyteller. And of course, at the first time, I didn’t understand her story when she brought her story, I just enjoyed her performance. She brought two dolls, two cute barbies. Interesting! Her voice became funny when she laughed “ha…ha…ha…” the voice was like a boy. Perhaps, it liked a giant voice. I just said to myself “What was she doing, but her gesture makes me feel really amusing.”

I liked her. From then on, I felt “I admire her” I asked her name, her address, and her class. I watched her activities. And she was a kind person in this school. More and more ‘I admire her”. The most important thing she said ‘when English to be my loved”. She was admiring English and mastering it. It was her basic, and it was her passion.

Well, mastering English is Al-Farhan’s culture. And I followed it. This culture influenced me to study or learn more about English. And the result from this ‘culture’, my beloved school became ‘a lion’ in English for Lebak. They called us as the most wonderful school in mastering English.

‘Every people who understood well in English subject were the popular people. Included L’ they said like that when I sat in the first grade or the third grade. And it was one of the example phenomena that mastering English was our ‘culture’, and I enjoyed it, because I always have a spirit in doing learning, studying, and doing activity. I loved knowledge.

I couldn’t explain you about ‘how wonderful L is for me’ and I didn’t know about ‘what is the special thing in her personality that makes me admiring her?’

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

BEST MOMENT

FUN WITH ENGLISH

Fun with English

            Fun With English was the title of my book. My aunt Neneng Fatmawati gave it. And since I sat in the first grade of elementary school, I have learned it with my friend Atun. Learn without guidance! I just enjoyed the picture inside it and colored it together.

But, my roommate, gave me a lesson. I got so many lessons from that book. She guided me in speaking and helped me to memorize the vocabulary inside it. It was almost every day. She really helped me. Thank you Teteh F, hehe….

It was about three months or a month, the committee instructed me to speech in English. I received my first job in ‘Muhadoroh Program’ and it was so difficult, I stressed but I enjoyed it.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

FOREIGNER FRIEND

Beautiful moment in Jakarta

“Just pay for Rp.500.000 I get a wonderful experience”

In 2008

I join ASEAN Scout Jamboree, at that time, I just twelve years old, an innocent child! I was the only one that was still a child. My group was containing with a teenagers. Hah , I was the youngest member.

Singapore, Brunei Darussalam, Vietnam, Philipina, Malaysia and e.tc! I met them. I met with the girls and boys scout from that countries. But unfortunately, I didn’t speak with hem. “Hmmm, how unlucky I am” but I have many friends. They liked me. My close friends or my foreigner friends came from Vietnam. They looked for me. Heheheh… though I couldn’t speak English. I got a soul mate from other country. But for now I forgot her name. I gave her a ring and I saw how happy she was when I gave it.

Besides that, I have a friend from Tangerang. She was twelve years old too. And she understood English well. But I thought she was an arrogant people. She came from an international school. I knew that she was a clever girl. But, if we talked about her attitude… argh! We disliked her. Sometimes, I wished I could be like her. I wished and I hoped, I could chat well with my friend from Vietnam without misunderstanding. I hope and I wished I could be liked my ‘idol.’ I felt that how enjoy she was when she talked with our foreigner friend. Huft… 😦 I wished I became a master in English just like her :).

Besides my friend from Tangerang, I have so many friends from Latansa Islamic Boarding School. One of them is Susi. She was my soul mate too. Susi would translate my foreign friend speaking (language) for me. And the important thing, I and Susi and my friend from Vietnam were a close friend. We always together! Susi was my translator. Djuying was the name of my friend from Vietnam. I remembered it.

This experience motivated me to learn English then I could talk with foreigner.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

In 2009

I was a storyteller

In the first grade of junior high school, I was a “Pendongeng”. I told the audience about Lewi Sero story in Indonesia language. It was my first experience.

Basically I was a poem reader. My dream was become a champion for a poem competition, liked my senior, Ulan Linda Sari.

On October 2008, I became the third winner for poem competition in my sub district. I felt so happy, and I got my confident. I learnt an expression from Miss Ulan, such as an arrogant expression when I said “aku jatuhkan melati ini…” (Hehe… I liked this sentence), sad expression, and etc.

Well, they chose me as the next storyteller. It was really interesting. I could show my story with full of my expression. I enjoyed it. I learnt so many things from this experience. And happily I won!! I was the champion for twice in my sub district and I was the second winner for twice in my district, Lebak (although I felt so disappointed).

I considered my second achievement as my failure. Honestly, I wish I could go to Anyer and competed with my friends in province. And it was for my experience. But I failed. I couldn’t be the champion in my district. Hah…!

But god changed my failure with luck. I competed in one competition. I got the winner, the first rank, and from it, I got Rp 400.000. “Not so bad” I thought. More than that, at that time, I felt a big happiness. Friends! The competition was about “Rule model student with talent and achievement” I spent my holiday for it. But unfortunately, they didn’t send me to province or it was just a competition in my district.

It was about Bad memory in my life.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

When you study in Islamic boarding school, you would accept and do the role inside it and I could say that, it was so, so many roles here. Include a role in our speaking! In all the time, and all the day, I must to say in a foreign language, they are English and Arabic language. Do not say in Bahasa. There is not such word “we can’t, sister.” All the people/student must form a habit in using a foreign language.

You know that I came with a poor knowledge about a foreign language and I was a spoiled girl! Then I couldn’t follow them in using the languages. So, on September 2009 I got a punishment from the Language Department Center (LDC). But I regarded this experience as my motivation to reach success and do not left behind of my friends. They could speak in foreign languages and they didn’t get a punishment from the LDC. Then, I struggle to be a discipline people.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

On September 2013

I asked my father about “where should I go after I graduated from this school?” we talked about the university or about my future. “I need your opinion Dad! I want to be a doctor. What do you think dad!” I said to my father.  And he answered “just up to you kid! It is depending on your interest, and your passion.

I always forced him to give his opinion or his advice.  Then, with his serious face, he looked at my eyes and said “I want you to be a LEADER!” “What?” I said strangely and I laughed then I said “what do you mean father?” “I want you to be an entrepreneur” but I told my father that I can’t, I also told him that it was not my passion, I lacked of mental, I was a weak people and I wanted to lie in a peace. And from then on he started to give his advice. He said that no profession in this world which would give a peace for you. All the profession had many risks, include a doctor and even a teacher or Ulama. And if I talking about mental, he instructed me to train it, learn it and make it as my habit. And he also said that he trusted “I can” he said that I could to be what I want.  And the last he said “study hard for mathematic and English subject”.

But come on!! To be an entrepreneur…? oh my god I couldn’t imagine it!!!

You will lie in the different condition with me

It meant that in my period, everything would become so different. This world would always improve everything in every subject. Such as in technology, knowledge, science, politic, economy, and etc. almost all the subject in our world behave a big improvement and also the competition among the people would always increase. So my parents asked me to always study hard.

I understood why my father said “mastering English”. I understood what does he meant!

Mastering English was really important, and more important in the future. Year to year, this world would become a small world it was because the globalization through the media, and it would influence us in doing our work in this world. English is a global language. So if you wanted to be a success people or to go to the around world you must master it. Without it you will be left behind, and you wouldn’t talk with a foreign people.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

“Hidup untuk dan oleh ilmu”

That was a motto of my head master in my senior high school. Mr Waseh, that is his name. I adopted this motto as my reminder because I liked it. It was so right that… without science in our heart we would be nothing.

Besides that I always remember that I as a human and was the khaliph for this world.

“We are the perfect creature in this universe”

“So, just do the perfect thing or struggle in that, and behave a nice heart, and act in a good attitude!  Then we would to complete our function as the perfect creature and the khaliph for this world” whispered my heart.

Khaliph for the world should to master the period or the age! Such as mastering the language if this world and understanding well about how to face this world. Khaliph was a role model. I thought that it was our potential. Then if I wanted to show it and make it true I needed to master science and act in a good attitude (exemplary).

Peace?

I wanted to explain you about “what is peace for me?” I always talked about it, and perhaps, you thought that it was unclear? I didn’t explain you the meaning of this word in my sight. Well, peace was a kindness, it was like a satisfy feeling in our heart and it was coming when we saw, felt, or counted our pleasure in our life. And in the other word, peace would come into your heart when you thanked to god for you condition in this world. At all, peace was a kindness from you inner heart or yourself.

Count your blessing not you troubles

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

MEMORY IN SENIOR HIGH SCHOOL

When I sat in the first grade of senior high school, I made a story based on a film which I watched together with my friends with the tittle ‘The Smurfs.” it really helped me in enriching my vocabulary and in increasing my ability.

I liked to practice a drama, and I did it in the third grade of junior high school, in first high school, and in the second of senior high school.  It was so fun and maybe I always felt so satisfy in practicing it. In the third grade I brought my drama under the title “Lonely Landy” with my partner Musfiroh as Koko the turtle and I as Landy the porcupine. In the first grade of senior high school I brought my drama under the title “Roro Jonggrang” with my friend Suci Anggun Anggraeni as Roro Jonggrang and I as her society. In the second grade of senior high school I brought my drama under the title “Beauty and The Beast” with my friend Pipit Fitriani as the beauty and I as the beast.

It was my great experience. I liked it. And also my friends! They always remember that moment. I brought my drama in a different way. Lonely Landy was my fable drama and it was the most difficult drama because of its equipment. But it was a funny drama and great (for me). Roro Jonggrang was my folktale drama, it was about a legend and we played as a society in kingdom and Suci as the princess. This drama was the funniest drama for all of us! Because I saw all they couldn’t control their laugh when they watched our drama. Beauty and the Beast was my fairytale drama, we brought it in a romantic condition, or other said “it is so serious”. And it was the longest for me.

 

Leave a Reply

